the world's most visited architecture website

Sign up now and start saving and organizing your favorite architecture projects and photos

Sign up now to save and organize your favorite architecture projects


Find the most inspiring products for your projects in our Product Catalog.

Find the most inspiring products in our Product Catalog.


Get the ArchDaily Chrome Extension and be inspired with every new tab. Install here »


All over the world, architects are finding cool ways to re-use run-down old buildings. Click here to see the best in Refurbishment Architecture.

Want to see the coolest refurbishment projects? Click here.


Immerse yourself in inspiring buildings with our selection of 360 videos. Click here.

See our immersive, inspiring 360 videos. Click here.

Navigate articles using your keyboard
  1. ArchDaily
  2. Articles
  3. Wang Shu + Lu Wenyu to Win the Schelling Architecture Prize

Wang Shu + Lu Wenyu to Win the Schelling Architecture Prize

Wang Shu + Lu Wenyu to Win the Schelling Architecture Prize

The Schelling Architecture Foundation has recently named the winners of their Prize for Architecture and their Architectural Theory Prize. The award was bestowed upon Chinese architects Wang Shu & Lu Wenyu of Amateur Architecture Studio (for architecture) and the French architect Jean‐Louis Cohen (for architectural theory. We’ll bring you more details on their projects throughout the upcoming week, but first take a quick look at some of their buildings after the break.

The foundation explained that, “Wang and Lu recognize the need for a philosophical and conceptual foundation of architecture which must find its origin in the substance of building.” Known for using traditional materials and the manipulation of landscape as a catalyst to create new forms, the team creates projects that seamlessly fit into their context and possess a strong architectural character.

Along with these awards, Schelling Medals are being given to the Swiss architects Knapkiewicz & Fickert and the British designer Tom Heatherwick for their work in the field.  The public award ceremony will be held in the presence of all prize winners and medallists on  the 14th of November 2010 in Karlsruhe, Germany. Congratulations to all the winners!

Images via designboom and as noted David Brown and Thomas Stellmach

About this author
Karen Cilento

See more:

Cite: Karen Cilento. "Wang Shu + Lu Wenyu to Win the Schelling Architecture Prize" 22 Aug 2010. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884
Read comments