AIA New York announced 2010 Design Award Winners

The eminent juries convened for the AIA New York Chapter’s Design Awards announced the thirty-four winning projects at a symposium on March 1 evening at the Center for Architecture, 536 LaGuardia Place.

The thirty-four selected projects and the architecture firms behind them – many of whom were on hand for the event – represented exceptional work by AIA New York members in four categories: interiors, architecture, unbuilt work, and new for 2010, urban design. Each winning project, granted either an “honor” or “merit” award, was chosen for its exemplary originality. The criteria used by the juries included design quality, program resolution, innovation, thoughtfulness and technique. Jurors included San Diego professor Teddy Cruz and Los Angeles luminary Craig Hodgetts, FAIA, and Canadian architects Brigette Shim, Hon. FAIA, and Gilles Saucier. There were 425 entries in four categories, including close to two hundred submissions in the architecture category alone.

Complete list of winners after the break.

Architecture Honor Award Winners:

Steven Holl Architects / Knut Hamsun Center / Hamarøy, Norway Steven Holl Architects / Vanke Center – Horizontal Skyscraper / Shenzen, China Peter Gluck and Partners / East Harlem School / New York, NY Marble Fairbanks / Toni Stabile Student Center / New York, NY Thomas Phifer and Partners / Fishers Island House / Fishers Island, NY Morphosis Architects / 41 Cooper Square / New York, NY Toshiko Mori Architect PLLC / The Eleanor and Wilson Greatbatch Pavilion / Buffalo, NY

Architecture Merit Award Winners:

STUDIOS Architecture / 200 Fifth Avenue / New York, NY Handel Architects LLP / New Amsterdam Plein & Pavilion / New York, NY SAA/Stan Allen Architect / Salim Publishing House / Paju Book City, Korea Philip Wu Architect / 39 East 13th Street / New York, NY Garrison Atchitects / Koby / Albion, MI Rafael Viñoly Architects PC / Carrasco International Airport New Terminal / Montevideo, Uruguay

Interiors Honor Award Winners:

Peter Marino Architect / Chanel Robertson Blvd. / Los Angeles, CA Butler Rogers Baskett / Trinity School – Johnson Chapel / New York, NY

Interiors Merit Award Winners:

Lyn Rice Architects / The New School Welcome Center / New York, NY Garrison Architects / Slocum Hall / Syracuse, NY STUDIOS Architecture / Dow Jones Offices / New York, NY Shelton, Mindel & Associates / Manhattan Rooftop Duplex / New York, NY

Unbuilt Work Merit Award Winners:

Della Valle Bernheimer / R-House / Syracuse, NY Ginseng Chicken Architecture P.C. / Open Paradox / Seoul, South Korea EASTON+COMBS / Lux Nova / Queens, NY OBRA Architects / Korean Cultural Center New York / New York, NY Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects / Transbay Transit Center / San Francisco, CA H Associates / Chungnam Government Complex / Hongsung, South Korea Konyk Architecture PC / Urban Aeration / Dallas, TX Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates PC / Tianjin Hang Lung / Plazaianjin, China Architecture Research Office / On the Water: Palisade Bay / New York – New Jersey Upper Bay OBRA Architects / The Great Hall at Grace Farms / New Canaan, CT Audrey Matlock Architect / Medeu Sports Center / Medeu, Kazakhstan

Urban Design Honor Award Winner:

James Corner Field Operations and Diller Scofidio + Renfro / The High Line / New York, NY

Urban Design Merit Award Winners:

Architectural Research Office / Five Principles for Greenwich South / New York, NY Rogers Marvel Architects, PLLC and di Domenico + Partners, LLP / MTA Flood Mitigation Streetscape Design / New York, NY dlandstudio llc / BQE Trench: Reconnection Strategies for Brooklyn / Brooklyn, NY

About this author
Cite: Sebastian Jordana. "AIA New York announced 2010 Design Award Winners" 12 Apr 2010. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.