RIBA Announces President's Awards for Research 2013

RIBA Announces President's Awards for Research 2013

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced the winners of the President’s Awards for Research 2013. The awards recognize high-quality research and encourage its distribution and incorporation into the wider profession to foster innovation and strategic thinking. From an urban healing agenda for reform in Bahrain to a book that explores the incredible potential of concrete, the 2013 winners of the President’s Awards for Research are:

RIBA President's Award for Outstanding Master's Degree Thesis

Winner: Fay Al Khalifa of Sheffield University for An urban healing agenda for reform in Bahrain: where the dweller falls into the urban gap and the sailing boat hits the skyscraper.

Al Khalifa successfully tackled the implications of rapid change in Bahrain in a post-oil world in this well executed study. Although the struggle to find people willing to contribute is evident, the author has been able to consult with key players including the Bahrain Ministry of Culture and the University of Bahrain. This sophisticated MA is full of astute observations and recommendations; a relevant and important topic tackled well.

RIBA President's Award for Outstanding PhD Thesis

Winner: Ricardo Agarez of the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL, for Regionalism, Modernism and Vernacular Tradition in the Architecture of the Algarve, Portugal, 1925 – 1965.

The level of rigor in Agarez’ thesis was impressive, with the student searching every planning application and building control entry in libraries over a 40 year period, leading to a total of over 700 referenced cases. The narrative of the thesis records the development of the student’s ideas and maturation as a researcher, making it an engaging read.

Commendation: Yara Sharif of the University of Westminster for PhD by design: ‘Searching for spaces of possibilities and spaces of imagination within the Palestinian/Israeli conflict.’

RIBA President's Awards for Outstanding University-located Research

Winner: Adrian Forty of The Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL for his book Concrete and Culture, a Material History.

The book approaches concrete – a material often despised but with incredible potential – from an aesthetic and social stance rather than a technical one.  It uses clever examples and is well-written. The judges consider the book an enjoyable read and a significant achievement.

Commendation: Wayne Forster of Cardiff University for Affordable housing system from locally grown softwoods: Ty Unnos.

RIBA President's Awards for Outstanding Practice-located Research

Winner: Bill Dunster of the ZED Factory for ZEDlife.

The judges were impressed by this important portfolio of work, praising it for its scope, scale and ambition.  The emergent critical process was excellently communicated via the journey through the various pioneering projects around the world. 

Chair of the Judging Panel, Greg Penoyre of Penoyre & Prasad said: “The 2013 Presidents Awards for Research shortlist were another wide ranging and high quality set of submissions representing an immense amount of work. Across the four categories the panel reviewed research ranging from the theoretical and historical to the technical and design led. As always choosing the winners meant difficult decisions. The submissions led to healthy discussions in the panel meetings around the relationship of research and architectural design. There is no doubt this is an important issue, with research nourishing practice and increasingly, practice actively involved in research. The panel were pleased to give awards and commendations to this years’ list of successful candidates.”

News via RIBA.

About this author
Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "RIBA Announces President's Awards for Research 2013" 22 Oct 2013. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/441396/riba-announces-president-s-awards-for-research-2013> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.