Marco Casagrande Wins European Prize for Architecture

Marco Casagrande Wins European Prize for Architecture

Finnish architect Marco Casagrande of Casagrande Laboratory and WEAK! has been named as the recipient for the 2013 European Prize for Architecture. The annual award, presented by The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design and The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies, is known for honoring “rare architects who have demonstrated a significant contribution to humanity and to the built environment through the art of architecture.”

“Casagrande is a model for today’s young design professional of what an architect should be: visionary, aesthetic, intellectual, and socially responsible,” stated Christian Narkiewicz-Laine, the Finnish Museum President of The Chicago Athenaeum.

Spanning the realms of architecture, urban and environmental planning, as well as environmental art, theory, teaching and other disciplines, Casagrande’s work has been based on a fundamental understanding the the built human environment is tied into social drama and environmental awareness. According to this architect: “There is no other reality than nature.”

Since 2003, Casagrande has been principle of his Helsinki-based practice Casagrande Laboratory and WEAK!, together with Hsieh Ying-Chun and Roan Ching-Yueh in Taipei, Taiwan. You can view a selection of his work here on ArchDaily.

“Casagrande is one of Europe’s new young breed of architects,” Narkiewicz-Laine continued, “who have expanded the traditional boundaries of architecture, pushing that envelope beyond ‘accepted norms’ and the ‘standard perimeters’ of design practice, to include architecture as environmental art and sculpture, while embracing sustainability, humanism, and the public’s right to an appropriate architecture and urban design that reflects and respects human values, dignity, and self-esteem.”

A formal ceremony for what has come to be known throughout the world as European architecture’s highest honor will be held in Buenos Aires, Argentina during the 14th International Biennial of Architecture Buenos Aires September 24-27, 2013.

Previous Laureates of The European Prize for Architecture include: The Danish architect, Bjarke Ingels (2010); the German architects, Graft Architekten (2011); and the Norwegian firm, TYIN tegnestue Architects (2012).

About this author
Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "Marco Casagrande Wins European Prize for Architecture" 11 Sep 2013. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.