Eduardo Souto de Moura to receive Israel's prestigious Wolf Prize

Eduardo Souto de Moura to receive Israel's prestigious Wolf Prize
Eduardo Souto de Moura © Francisco Nogueira

Breaking news from Tel Aviv: The Wolf Foundation has announced that Pritzker Prize laureate Eduardo Souto de Moura will be honored with Israel’s prestigious Wolf Prize. The Portuguese architect was named “to reward his advancement of the craft and ideas of architecture.”

Since 1978, Wolf recipients have been annually award to honor those who have advanced the fields of art and science. Often, they are considered to be strong contenders for Nobel prizes, as about one out of every three laureates in chemistry, physics and medicine have gone to receive the Nobel.

Learn more after the break…

The following American, German and Austrian scientists were also selected as recipients: Juan Ignacio Cirac from Germany and Peter Zoller from Austria won the prize in physics, two prizes in mathematics went to Americans George D. Mostow and Michael Artin, Robert Langer won the prize in chemistry, and two scientists won the prize in agriculture – Americans Jared Diamond and Joachim Messing.

The eight winners from four countries share $100,000 awards in each of five categories.

Laureates will receive their awards from the President Shimon Peres. The prize presentation takes place in May at a special ceremony at the Knesset Building (Israel´s Parliament), in Jerusalem.

via Haaretz

About this author
Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "Eduardo Souto de Moura to receive Israel's prestigious Wolf Prize" 02 Jan 2013. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.