the world's most visited architecture website

Sign up now and start saving and organizing your favorite architecture projects and photos

Sign up now to save and organize your favorite architecture projects


Find the most inspiring products for your projects in our Product Catalog.

Find the most inspiring products in our Product Catalog.


Get the ArchDaily Chrome Extension and be inspired with every new tab. Install here »


All over the world, architects are finding cool ways to re-use run-down old buildings. Click here to see the best in Refurbishment Architecture.

Want to see the coolest refurbishment projects? Click here.


Immerse yourself in inspiring buildings with our selection of 360 videos. Click here.

See our immersive, inspiring 360 videos. Click here.

Navigate articles using your keyboard
  1. ArchDaily
  2. Articles
  3. Grand Central Terminal Drawing Competition Winners

Grand Central Terminal Drawing Competition Winners

Grand Central Terminal Drawing Competition Winners
Grand Central Terminal elevation drawing, Warren & Wetmore and Reed & Stem c. 1910 (Courtesy of New York Transit Museum)
Grand Central Terminal elevation drawing, Warren & Wetmore and Reed & Stem c. 1910 (Courtesy of New York Transit Museum)

The Architectural League of New York and the New York Transit Museum recently announced the winners of a competition to select sketches by contemporary architects for a new Grand Central Terminal sketchbook produced in collaboration with Moleskine. The sketchbook features historical images from the Transit Museum’s collections, along with twenty drawings and sketches by contemporary architects and designers who were invited to “submit a sketch or drawing that captures and/or re-imagines Grand Central, representing or evoking what this iconic building means to you.” More images and information after the break.

The special edition Moleskine sketchbook celebrates Grand Central Terminal, one of New York City’s most beloved monuments, which will mark its centennial in 2013. A jury consisting of Dr. Jamshed Bharucha, Laurie Beckelman, John di Domenico, John Hartmann, Frank Lupo, Blake Middleton, Anne Rieselbach, Gabrielle Shubert, and Michael Webb selected the winning sketches from 109 entries.

Beverly Borg, Hastings-on Hudson, NY
Beverly Borg, Hastings-on Hudson, NY

The winning work represents both the richness and breadth of interpretation that defined the entries to this competition. The submissions ranged in media from hand-drawn sketches, charcoal drawings, and watercolors to photomontages, collages, and computer-aided renderings. The interpretations are sometimes whimsical and impressionistic, sometimes analytic and diagrammatic. Evoking different kinds of narratives, unusual vantage points, and the complexity and dynamism of a working transit hub, the individual responses selected for publication form a collective portrait that captures Grand Central Terminal’s historical legacy, current functionality, and iconicity to New York.

Syreeta Brooks, Piscataway, NJ
Syreeta Brooks, Piscataway, NJ


Mercedes Cuvi, Ithaca, NY
Mercedes Cuvi, Ithaca, NY

Beverly Borg, Hastings-on Hudson, NY Syreeta Brooks, Piscataway, NJ Mercedes Cuvi, Ithaca, NY Jeff DiCicco, Santa Monica, CA Zachary Downey, Brooklyn, NY Rodrigo Garcia Fernandez, Montevideo, Uruguay Hany Hassan, Washington, DC Carol Hsiung, Millburn, NJ Stephanie Jazmines, Brooklyn, NY Petra Kempf, Brooklyn, NY Eriko Kawamura, New York, NY Jacqueline Lavin, South Huntington, NY Sarah Mark, Somerville, MA Kurt Ofer, Cooperstown, NY Edgar Papazian, Great Neck, NY Thomas Sheridan, Brooklyn, NY Steve Socha, Toronto, ON, Canada Tyler Survant, Leticia Wouk Almino, & Kyle Stover, Brooklyn, NY Nicholas Venezia, Piscataway, NJ Christine Zavesky, Miami, FL

The special edition Moleskine sketchbook for Grand Central Terminal, featuring the winning entries and historical material, is now on sale at Transit Museum Stores in Grand Central, Brooklyn, and online here. For more information on the winners, please visit here.

View the complete gallery

About this author
Alison Furuto

See more:

Cite: Alison Furuto. "Grand Central Terminal Drawing Competition Winners" 27 Dec 2012. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.