the world's most visited architecture website

Sign up now and start saving and organizing your favorite architecture projects and photos

Sign up now to save and organize your favorite architecture projects


Find the most inspiring products for your projects in our Product Catalog.

Find the most inspiring products in our Product Catalog.


Get the ArchDaily Chrome Extension and be inspired with every new tab. Install here »


All over the world, architects are finding cool ways to re-use run-down old buildings. Click here to see the best in Refurbishment Architecture.

Want to see the coolest refurbishment projects? Click here.


Immerse yourself in inspiring buildings with our selection of 360 videos. Click here.

See our immersive, inspiring 360 videos. Click here.

Navigate articles using your keyboard
  1. ArchDaily
  2. Articles
  3. SOM Foundation Announces 2012 Prize Recipients

SOM Foundation Announces 2012 Prize Recipients

SOM Foundation Announces 2012 Prize Recipients
Manhattan Loft Gardens / SOM I © Hayes Davidson
Manhattan Loft Gardens / SOM I © Hayes Davidson

Pavlo Kryvozub, a recent graduate of the University of Cincinnati, was just announced by the SOM Foundation as the winner of the 2012 SOM Prize. He will use the $50,000 award to facilitate travel in Europe and Asia pursuing research on his topic, “Synthesis of Art & Architecture.” Kryvozub says, “The synthesis of the arts within the field of architecture has a long tradition which spans throughout human history…I would like to look for the continuity of development and interaction of architecture with other arts in both historical and contemporary contexts.” More information on the awards after the break.

The 2012 SOM Travel/Research Fellowship, which comes with a stipend of $20,000, is awarded to Annie Stone, who received a B. Arch. from the University of Tennessee this past May. Ms. Stone’s topic is “CISTERCIAN—an analysis of sight(e)”—a proposal to develop a critical methodology for approaching sight within a given frame of reference to “expand beyond the immediacy and exactitude of the camera’s eye, to capture a meaningful essence.”

Submissions for the SOM Prize were received from students at 34 schools in the United States. The jury of Chicago-based architects included Ronald Krueck, FAIA, Krueck & Sexton Architects; John Ronan, AIA, John Ronan Architects; and Brian Lee, FAIA, Partner, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP (SOM)—who served as jury chair.

Margaret Wildnauer is winner of the $10,000 2012 Structural Engineering Travel Fellowship for her proposal, “The Fourth E.” Her research will build on Dr. David Billington’s seminal description of the defining characteristics of structural art as “efficiency, economy and elegance.” Wildnauer writes, “As environmental concerns become more prominent, a central priority in the mind of structural engineers and designers should be sustainability and therefore, ‘environment’ must be added as a fourth criterion for a successful structure.”

San Francisco-based professionals comprised the structural jury: Tom Buresh, University of California, Berkeley; Richard M. Kunnath, PE, Pankow Builders, Pasadena; Marsha Maytum, Leddy, Maytum, Stacy Architects, San Francisco; Mark Saunders, Rutherford & Chekene, San Francisco; and SOM Structural Engineering Director Mark Sarkisian—who chaired the group.

Portfolios, research abstracts and travel itineraries of the prize recipients will be posted on the SOM Foundation’s website later this month.

About this author
Alison Furuto
Cite: Alison Furuto. "SOM Foundation Announces 2012 Prize Recipients" 17 Aug 2012. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884
Read comments