RIBA Stirling Prize Shortlist 2011 Revealed

Evelyn Grace Academy / Zaha Hadid Architects © Luke Hayes

The Royal Institute of British Architecture (RIBA) recently released the shortlist for this year’s Stirling Prize, the UK’s most prestigious architecture prize. Presented annually to the architects of the ‘building that has made the greatest contribution to the evolution of architecture in the past year’ this year’s six shortlisted projects range from the most expensive city academy school every built to a 1932 refurbished theater. The winner will be announced in October at the RIBA Stirling Prize dinner, held at the Magna Science and Adventure Centre in Rotherham, winner of the 2001 RIBA Stirling Prize.

Follow the break for the complete shortlist and more details about the RIBA Stirling Prize.

RIBA Stirling Prize Shortlist 2011:

Evelyn Grace Academy / Zaha Hadid Architects © Luke Hayes

  • Evelyn Grace Academy / Zaha Hadid Architects
  • An Gaelaras / O’Donnell and Tuomey
  • Folkwang Museum / David Chipperfield Architects
  • The Angel Building / AHMM
  • Royal Shakespeare Theatre / Bennetts Associates
  • The Velodrome / Hopkins Architects

The RIBA Stirling Prize is for projects ‘built or designed in Britain’.  Buildings are eligible if they are in the UK or European Union by an architect whose head office is in the UK.  The prize was set up in 1996 and is named after the great British architect Sir James Stirling (1926 – 1992). It is presented in association with The Architects’ Journal and Benchmark, and the winning architect receives a cash prize of £20,000.

Buildings need to enter and win an RIBA Award for architectural excellence in order to be judged for the RIBA Stirling Prize. The RIBA Awards are announced in May each year and are judged by a regional Jury. A separate jury is then created to form the RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist.

Zaha Hadid Architects received the 2010 RIBA Stirling Prize, for the MAXXI National Museum of XXI Century Arts in Rome.

About this author
Cite: Kelly Minner. "RIBA Stirling Prize Shortlist 2011 Revealed" 22 Jul 2011. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/152987/riba-stirling-prize-shortlist-2011-revealed> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.