Australian House of the Year Award Finalists

Queenscliff Residence by John Wardle Architects

As one of the country’s most sought after architectural accolades, the Houses Awards celebrate Australia’s best residential projects in seven categories, which will culminate in the announcement of the 2011 Australian House of the Year. The Australian House of the Year Award winner stands to win a $5,000 cash prize, while winners of individual categories will each receive $1,000. Winners will be announced on July 15th. More images and information after the break.

A quality response to the call for entries was received, with 212 projects submitted from throughout Australia. Seventy one projects have been selected as finalists within the seven categories which include: New House under 200 sqm, New House over 200 sqm, House Alteration and Addition under 200 sqm, House Alteration and Addition over 200 sqm, Apartment, Unit, or Townhouse, Outdoor, and Sustainability.

Glen Waverly Residence by Pleysier Perkins

The difficult task of deliberating between entrants lay with the judging panel, which includes such celebrated architects and designers as: Brian Zulaikha, Director, Tonkin Zulaikha Greer (NSW), Camilla Block, Director, Durbach Block Jaggers (NSW), Paul Owen, Director, Owen and Vokes (Qld), Kerry Phelan, Director, Kerry Phelan Design Office (Vic), Cameron Bruhn, Editorial Director, Architecture Media (Vic), and Sustainability Category Advisor, Scott Drake, The University of Melbourne.

Jane's House and Garden by Taylor Cullity Lethlean

For a complete view of the online gallery in their respective categories, visit here.

Image gallery

See allShow less
About this author
Cite: Alison Furuto. "Australian House of the Year Award Finalists " 06 May 2011. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.