Kenneth Frampton wins 2012 Schelling Architecture Theory Prize

Kenneth Frampton selected publications.

British-American architect and historian Kenneth Frampton has been confirmed as this year’s winner of the Theory Prize of the Schelling Architecture Foundation. The jury is honoring Frampton for his “fundamental studies on tectonics and the architectonic large-scale form as predominant elements of urban landscapes. His theoretical range encompasses a vastness that no other prominent thinker in architecture has yet achieved. In addition, he will be honored for his accurate studies in which he has been analyzing current construction processes as well as the history of modern architecture since the early 19th century”.

As the winner of the 2012 Theory Prize, Frampton will now participate as a jury member in the selection of the winner. Given that of the ten winners of the four of them have already won the Pritzker Prize – most recently Wang Shu and Lu Wenyu – the nomination for the is in itself a distinction.

The three nominated practices for the €20,000 Schelling Architecture Prize are:

  • AFF Architekten: Martin and Sven Fröhlich (Berlin)
  • Al Borde: Malu Borja, David Barragán, Esteban Benavides, Pascual Gangoten (Quito)
  • 6a architects: Stephanie Macdonald, Tom Emerson (England)


The presentations from the shortlisted firms as well as the award ceremony will take place on November 14, 2012, at 6:00 p.m. in the Tulla auditorium KIT (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology).

Schloß Freudenstein Freiberg © Sven Fröhlich / AFF Architekten
Nueva Esperanza School © Alle Abbildungen / Al Borde Arquitectos
Romney Hampstead ©

All images courtesy of the Schelling Architecture Foundation.

Cite: Rosenfield, Karissa. "Kenneth Frampton wins 2012 Schelling Architecture Theory Prize" 23 Oct 2012. ArchDaily. Accessed 24 May 2015. <>