the world's most visited architecture website

PennDesign 2012 Spring Lecture Series

Courtesy of University of Pennsylvania School of Design
Courtesy of University of Pennsylvania School of Design

Just last month, University of Pennsylvania’s School of Design announced their lecture series for Spring 2012. All lectures are held at 6PM in Meyerson Hall and free and open to the public unless otherwise noted with continuing education credits available. The series began on January 17th and concludes on April 28th. More information on the upcoming events after the break.

Saturday, February 11 Symposium: Architectures of the Text: An Inquiry into the Hypnerotomachia Poliphili 10AM – 6:30PM, Meyerson Conference Room, Van Pelt-Dietrich Library, 2nd floor

Monday, February 13 ADRIAAN GEUZE Landscape Architect, West 8, The Netherlands “Re-Frame” The Annual Ian L. McHarg Lecture

Thursday, February 16 Visual Studies Lecture: ORKAN TELHAN Assistant Professor of Fine Arts & Emerging Design Practices University of Pennsylvania School of Design 5pm, Annenberg Center, Room 111 Sponsor: Penn Visual Studies, School of Arts and Sciences

Thursday, February 23 PAULA SCHER Designer, Pentagram Spiegel Resident 5:30 pm, B1 Meyerson Co-sponsor: Spiegel

Monday, February 27 ENRIQUE PEÑALOSA Former Mayor of Bogotá

Wednesday, February 29 VIA: DIRT Launch

Thursday, March 1 NOT VITAL Visiting Artist 6:30 pm, ICA Auditorium Co-Sponsor: ICA

Monday, March 12 TIMOTHY BEATLEY Teresa Heinz Professor of Sustainable Communities, School of Architecture, University of Virginia

Thursday, March 15 NEIL PORTER Principal, Gustafson Porter

Monday, March 19 MARION WEISS/MICHAEL MANFREDI Graham Chair Professor of Architecture, PennDesign Principals, Weiss/Mandredi KENNETH FRAMPTON Ware Professor of Architecture, Columbia University BARRY BERGDOLL Philip Johnson Chief Curator of Architecture and Design, MOMA 6:30pm, Meyerson Hall, B1 Sponsor: Kohn Pedersen Fox Lecture Fund

Wednesday, March 21 CHRISTINA CAMERON Professor, Canada Research Chair on Built Heritage Ecole d’Architecture, Universite de Montreal

Monday, March 26 Integrated Product Design Lecture: BILL MOGGRIDGE Director, Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum Sponsor: Lisa Roberts and David Seltzer/ Integrated Product Design Lecture Series

Wed, Mar 28 MATTHEW DAY JACKSON Visiting Artist 6:30pm, Institute for Contemporary Art Thursday, Mar 29

JOHN OCHSENDORF Associate Professor, MIT

Tuesday, April 3 WITOLD RYBCZYNSKI & MOSHE SAFDIE Meyerson Professor of Urbanism/Principle, Safdie Architects

Thursday, April 5 MOYRA DAVEY Visiting Artist 6:30pm, ICA Auditorium

Monday, April 9 IN THE TERRAIN OF WATER II 2-7pm, Meyerson Hall, Upper and Lower Galleries

Tuesday, April 10 PHILIPPE RAHM Philippe Rahm Architects 6:30pm, Meyerson Galleries Co-Sponsor: Ewing Cole Lecture Fund

Wednesday, April 11 DAVID N. FIXLER Principal, Design + Preservation, EYP/AE Inc.

Thursday, April 12 URBANIZED: Film Screening & Conversation RICKY BURDETT Professor of Urban Studies Director, LSE Cities and Urban Age Global Distinguished Professor, New York University JAMES CORNER Professor and Chair of Landscape Architecture, PennDesign Principal, James Corner Field Operations GARY HUSTWIT Director and Producer, “Urbanized” Co-Sponsor: Penn Institute for Urban Research, Cinema Studies

Wednesday, April 18 YVONNE FARRELL & SHELLEY MCNAMARA Directors, Grafton Architects 6:30pm, Meyerson Galleries Co-sponosor: Turner Lecture Fund

Thursday, April 19 KRZYSZTOF WODICZKO Visiting Artist 5pm, ICA

Friday-Saturday, April 27-28 CONSERVING THE CITY Friday evening/all day Saturday

For more information, please visit here.

Cite:Alison Furuto. "PennDesign 2012 Spring Lecture Series" 06 Feb 2012. ArchDaily. Accessed . <>