Estudio Barozzi Veiga: 5th Edition International Biennial of Architecture Barbara Cappochin Prize Winners

© Mariela Apollonio

The winners of the 2011 International “Barbara Cappochin” Prize for Architecture are two young emerging talents in the field of contemporary architecture, the Italian architect Fabrizio Barozzi and the Spanish architect Alberto Veiga: it is their project, a Promotional Centre for the D.O.C. wine: “Ribera del Duero” in Roa, Spain, which was unanimously chosen by the judges “because it merges the qualities of aesthetics, functionality and sustainability for which the Prize is awarded”. More information on the award after the break.

© Mariela Apollonio

The Prize, which is one of the most prestigious worldwide, is part of the “Barbara Cappochin” Architectural Bi-annual which was instituted to highlight the work of designers and builders who favour the culture of quality in architecture. The initiative is promoted by the “Barbara Cappochin” Foundation and the Chapter of Architects, Planners, Landscape architects and Conservationists of the province of Padova together with the town council of Padova, in collaboration with the Veneto Region, The International Union of Architects (U.I.A) and the Italian National Council of Architects, Planners, Landscape Architects and Conservationists (C.N.A.P.P.C).

© Mariela Apollonio

There were as many as 383 entries, all completed between July 2008 and June 2011 and belonging to the different categories according to the rules of the award: residential/commercial/offices/mixed architecture; public buildings; landscape architecture, and, new to this edition, interior design. Four prizes were awarded: The “International Barbara Cappochin Prize”, the “Special Prize for best architectural/construction detailing”, the “Provincial Prize” (for works within the province of Padova), and the “Giancarlo Ius Gold Medal” for buildings which use innovative energy saving solutions and renewable energy sources. 36 Countries were represented : apart from Italy, there were France, Germany, Spain, Portugal, Finland, Brazil, Mexico, United States, Israel, China, Japan, Korea, Singapore, and also, for the first time, Afghanistan, Tunisia, Sudan, Uruguay, Panama, Norway, Malta, Qatar, Canada, Romania, Albania and Vietnam.



Cite: Furuto, Alison. "Estudio Barozzi Veiga: 5th Edition International Biennial of Architecture Barbara Cappochin Prize Winners" 16 Nov 2011. ArchDaily. Accessed 22 May 2015. <>
  • up_today_arch

    nice form, looks like a monolith…

  • rock

    enhorabona – tanti auguri! fabrizio + co