We are currently in Beta version and updating this search on a regular basis. We’d love to hear your feedback here.

Anonymous Blogger


10 Modernist Buildings Receive Conservation Grants from Getty Foundation

The Getty Foundation has named the first 10 recipients of its philanthropic “Keeping It Modern” initiative, which aims to advance the understanding and preservation of 20th-century modern architecture. From Louis Kahn’s Salk Institute to Le Corbusier’s Parisian apartment, each recipient has been chosen for their architectural significance and potential to advance conservation practices related to modern architecture.

View all 10 projects, after the break...

IM Pei Wins UIA Gold Medal for Lifetime Achievement

The International Union of Architects (UIA) has announced that it will award its Gold Medal to the Chinese born American architect and 1983 Pritzker Laureate, Ieoh Ming Pei.

By bestowing the most prestigious of the UIA's awards on Pei, whose “life and work spans the history of modern architecture over five continents for more than sixty years," the UIA recognizes "his unique style, his timeless rigor, and his spiritual connection to history, time and space.”

Pei will receive the UIA Gold Medal at the awards ceremony at the UIA World Congress of Architecture in Durban, South Africa on August 6th 2014.

© Pei Cobb Freed & Partners© Flickr: username- Andy961© Anonymous BloggerCourtesy of Daniel Cooper - http://www.flickr.com/photos/doitintheroad/+ 5

AD Classics: Luce Memorial Chapel / I.M. Pei

© Anonymous Blogger© Anonymous BloggerAD Classics: Luce Memorial Chapel / I.M. Pei© Anonymous Blogger+ 7

Taichung City, Taiwan (ROC)
  • Architects: I.M. Pei
  • Year Completion year of this architecture project Year:  1963