AURA Symposium "Industry | Spatial Planning | Design for the Productive Space"

AURA Symposium "Industry | Spatial Planning | Design for the Productive Space"

International Symposium
“Industry | Spatial Planning | Design for the Productive Space”
3 sessions, 2 keynotes, 12 speakers

• Date: 20 November 2021 / Saturday
• Time: 13.15-20.00 (UTC+3/Turkish Time Zone) / 05.15-12.00 AM (EST)
• Place: Online (Zoom)
• Registration: https://aurasymposium.eventbrite.com

You are invited to discuss the strategic perspectives for the future transformation of the industrial districts in relation to the city…

AURA Symposium is organized with the contributions of Industrial Urbanism_Turkey, which designed as a multidisciplinary platform in cooperation with the METU Master of Urban Design, Master of Architectural Design Programs and the Policy Analysis Laboratory (PAL) with a reference to the “Industrial Urbanism” group created by the cooperation of MIT and Tel Aviv University. The symposium will take place with the participation of academicians, researchers and strategists from the fields of architecture, planning and economics.

The titles of the three sessions will be as follows:
Session 01: Towards an Industrial Urbanism
Session 02: Planning and Design: A Multi-Scalar Perspective
Session 03: Designing for Industrial Urbanism

- The symposium will be held in English, and simultaneous Turkish translation will be provided.
- Zoom session link will be sent to the participants via e-mail. Attendance is free of charge with the registration at Eventbrite: https://aurasymposium.eventbrite.com
- Live broadcast Youtube link for the event: https://youtu.be/DWeCzs7lFFo

-----

PROGRAM:

13.15-13.30 (UTC+3) – 05.15-05.30 AM (EST)
Opening Speeches

Sinan İzgi (AURA İstanbul)
Esen Çağlar (PAL)
Olgu Çalışkan (METU)

13.30-14.15 (UTC+3) - 05.30-06.15 AM (EST)
Keynote: City-Industry Nexus: Changing Dynamics and Future Challenges
Ayda Eraydın (METU)

14.15-15.45 (UTC+3) - 06.15 -07.45 AM (EST)
Session.01: Towards an Industrial Urbanism

• New Industrial Urbanism: Designing Places for Production
Tali Hatuka (Tel Aviv University)

• Architectural Praxis as A Means of Production: A Critical Perspective
Güven Arif Sargın (METU)

15.45-16.00 (UTC+3) - 07.45-08.00 AM (EST)
Break

16.00-17.15 (UTC+3) - 08.00-09.15 AM (EST)
Session.02: Planning and Design: A Multi-Scalar Perspective

• Industrial Transformation and the New Planning Policies
Ayşe Nur Albayrak (Çanakkale Onsekiz Mart University)

• Architecture of Production: From Mills To Machine Landscapes
İlayda Güler, Esin Kömez (METU)

17.15-18.00 (UTC+3) - 09.15-10.00 AM (EST)
Keynote: From the Past to Future Imaginaries for Productive Spaces
Nina Rappaport (Director, Vertical Urban Factory | Kean University )

18.00-18.15 - 10.00-10.15 AM (EST)
Break

18.15-20.00 - 10.15-12.00 AM (EST)
Session.03: Designing for Industrial Urbanism

• Designing the Future Factories of Pearl River Delta Region: Posthuman Landscapes Studio at MLA/ HKU Fall 2018 - 2020 Merve Bedir (Hong Kong University)

• Reworking Industrial Districts in Long Island City: The Studio Experiment of DUSP/MIT in Spring 2018
Marie Law Adams (MIT)

• Designing the Next Generation of Industrial Districts: The Experiment of Fall 2019 ‘Industrial Urbanism Studio’ at METU, Turkey
Olgu Çalışkan (METU), Esen Çağlar (PAL)


Click here to download the full program: https://bit.ly/3D9BRyi

Download the information related to this event here.

#Tags

This event was submitted by an ArchDaily user. If you'd like to submit an event, please use our "Submit a Event" form. The views expressed in announcements submitted by ArchDaily users do not necessarily reflect the views of ArchDaily.

Cite: "AURA Symposium "Industry | Spatial Planning | Design for the Productive Space"" 15 Nov 2021. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/971933/aura-symposium-industry-spatial-planning-design-for-the-productive-space> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.