the world's most visited architecture website
  1. ArchDaily
  2. Competitions & Opportunities
  3. Call for Submissions: Abdullatif Al Fozan Award for Mosque Architecture

Call for Submissions: Abdullatif Al Fozan Award for Mosque Architecture

  • 00:01 - 30 May, 2018
Call for Submissions: Abdullatif Al Fozan Award for Mosque Architecture
© Abdullatif Al Fozan Award
© Abdullatif Al Fozan Award

Abdullatif Al Fozan Award for Mosque Architecture was established in 2011, it’s targeting the architectural, urban, and technical aspects of mosques all over the world, and It will be awarded to the related designer/architect.

© Abdullatif Al Fozan Award
© Abdullatif Al Fozan Award

The main objective of this award is the development of contemporary architectural design of mosques, throughout a specialized and classified database. Moreover, it encourages the architects to create new mosque’s designs, which represent mosques in the twenty-first century. Generally, the award ensures the importance of the twenty-first century mosque architecture that perceived and re-produced the soul of the traditional mosque ideas and conceived by the contemporary mosque concepts as a fundamental message. Therefore, this new message expresses the presence of the contemporary mosque with its architectural and social connection and confirms the importance of the technological and the architectural forms that the mosque should reflect.

The award is triennial; the winning mosques will be awarded based on the assessment of international architectural jurors experienced with mosque architecture, who will relatively evaluate and assign the winning mosques. The candidate mosques will be categorized into three categories; Central Mosques, Jumaa’ (Friday) Mosques, and Local Mosques. Yet, there are prizes given to innovations and ideas which helps in developing the concept of mosques in the twenty first century.

The award was named after rewarding its founder and his efforts and history in supporting charities. Nevertheless, it is been managed by an executive committee and a general secretary, where the executive committee nominates jurors of each cycle, and accordingly follow up the assessment process and till assigning the awarded mosques.

Furthermore, a bilingual book of Arabic and English language about each award cycle will be published and distributed worldwide, with full critic and descriptive architectural analysis about the shortlisted and awarded mosques. This book is usually launched at the special awards triennial ceremony, in which organized at different cities worldwide.

© Abdullatif Al Fozan Award
© Abdullatif Al Fozan Award

The Cycles:

Abdullatif Al Fozan Award for Mosque Architecture has started its first cycle in 2011, and it was restricted to the allocated Mosques in Saudi Arabia. In 2014, The Award held its second cycle in a wider scope encompassing other Mosques across the Arabian Gulf countries. Simultaneously, the third cycle of the Award held in 2017, is planned to compromise the entire summation of Islamic countries. Progressively, the fourth cycle held in 2020 is expected to be a worldwide award for Mosque Architecture.


The nomination process spans from the start of the first year of each cycle and lasts till the middle of the second year. During this period the unique and distinguished mosques within the targeted area are nominated. However, the nominated mosques must be built heretofore and in-use for two years by the time mentioned. Furthermore, these mosques are a real-life incarnation of the mosque architecture conception in the twenty-first century, which are targeted for nomination. Accordingly, all mosques are unexceptionally approved; hence, nomination is based on the following mosque categories:
Central Mosques, Jumaa (Friday) Mosques, and Local Mosques.

Third Cycle:

On March 14, 2018, Abdullatif Al Fozan Award for Mosque Architecture has announced the beginning of the third cycle’s nomination which dedicated to mosques built in the Muslim countries. Nevertheless, unique mosques in terms of functionality, environment-friendly, spirituality, and strong integration with the urban context are intended to be nominated for this cycle and the winning projects would represent ‘mosques of the twenty-first century’ with high respect to the mosque identity.

© Abdullatif Al Fozan Award
© Abdullatif Al Fozan Award

Nomination Terms:

  • Mosques must be built and in use
  • The built date must be after the year 2000
  • Mosques must be within the Islamic countries
  • Previous cycle’s winners are not eligible for nomination

Review and Awarding:

The review of nominated mosques and the selection of awarded ones is the responsibility of an independent jury, this jury members are specially appointed for each award cycle. The jury members at each cycle are multidisciplinary, bringing together specialists in various related fields as architecture, anthropology, art, and Islamic studies.

For the third cycle, the jury will hold two meetings before arriving at its final decisions. At the first meeting, the jury reviews the nominated mosques and selects a shortlist of approximately 15-20 projects from different Islamic countries.

The shortlisted projects will be announced to the public at multi-layers media campaigns. Information on the projects is also disseminated through a broad campaign organized by the Abdullatif Al Fozan Award for Mosque Architecture (AAFAMA) general secretariat.

The final awarded mosques will be announced a month prior to the award final ceremony in 2020. During this ceremony, a celebrational announcement will be done accompanied by Awards delivery for the three winning projects and marks the close of each triennial cycle.

  • Title

    Call for Submissions: Abdullatif Al Fozan Award for Mosque Architecture
  • Type

    Call for Submissions
  • Organizers

  • Registration Deadline

    14/09/2018 12:00
  • Submission Deadline

    14/09/2018 12:00
  • Price


This call for submissions was submitted by an ArchDaily user. If you'd like to submit a competition, call for submissions or other architectural 'opportunity' please use our "Submit a Call for Submissions" form. The views expressed in announcements submitted by ArchDaily users do not necessarily reflect the views of ArchDaily.

Cite: "Call for Submissions: Abdullatif Al Fozan Award for Mosque Architecture " 30 May 2018. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.