DETAIL Prize 2018

DETAIL Prize 2018 announced: Innovative details wanted!

• Submissions from 3 to 30 April 2018
• Prizes are awarded for architecture, interior design and construction
• Award ceremony on 16 November 2018

DETAIL is awarding the international DETAIL Prize 2018, and in doing so once again recognising the importance of innovative details for the overall design concept. In keeping with the journal's self-conception, architecture is thereby defined in its entirety: The architecture prize honours innovative building construction projects, outstanding interior design and construction-related highlights.

Awarding architectural quality
The DETAIL Prize is awarded for future-oriented, innovative and authoritative projects with outstanding architectural and technical qualities. From 3 to 30 April 2018, planners can submit projects realised anywhere in the world for all building types that are characterised by special details within a coherent overall concept. In addition to the main prize, the two special prizes, DETAIL inside and structure – powered by DETAIL, will also be awarded in reflection of the two new formats of the DETAIL journal. Architects, interior-designers, specifiers and designers as well as civil and structural engineers are therefore all invited to submit their projects. Also on offer once again will be the popular DETAIL Readers' Prize, the winner of which will be decided by the DETAIL readership through an online vote. All the information on the competition and digital submission is available online at:

Setting international standards
As in previous years, DETAIL once again expects to receive 350 to 400 entries from more than 40 countries. The DETAIL editorial team will choose the most convincing projects from all the submitted entries. In a second step, an international jury of distinguished experts which consists of DETAIL's Editor-in-Chief Dr Sandra Hofmeister, Kjetil Trædal Thorsen, who is a Founding Partner at Snøhetta, Prof Dr Klaus Bollinger from Bollinger und Grohmann Ingenieure, Barbara Holzer from Holzer Kobler Architekturen and Prof Dr Philippe Block from the ETH Zürich who is the winner of the DETAIL Readers' Prize 2016, will then select the winners of the DETAIL Prize 2018 from the nominations. The winner of DETAIL 2016 was Sean Godsell Architects from Melbourne, Australia, with the temporary project MPavilion. The DETAIL inside Special Prize was awarded to Florian Busch Architects from Tokyo for the K8 project in Kyoto, Japan. Knight Architects from High Wycombe received the DETAIL structure Special Prize for the Merchant Square pedestrian bridge in London. The DETAIL Readers' Prize went to the project group around the Swiss Block Research Group for the exhibition structure Armadillo Vault, Venice, Italy.

Celebrating architecture
At a public award-ceremony to be held on 16 November 2018 in Munich, the winning projects will be awarded. They will also be presented at BAU 2019, the world's leading trade fair for architecture, materials and systems, in Munich in January 2019.

The prize is awarded every two years by DETAIL in cooperation with the World’s Leading Trade Fair BAU as main sponsor, conceptual partners from the political arena and industry sponsors. The declared aim of the DETAIL Prize is to highlight the importance of architecture for society, to strengthen the role of architects in public, and to promote networking among architects, industrialists, developers and politicians.

DETAIL once again looks forward to receiving numerous exciting architectural projects!

All the information on the competition can be found at


Opening date for entries: 03.04.2018

Closing date for entries: 30.04.2018

Nomination: 14.05.2018

Jury meeting: 25.06.2018

Reader voting: 04.–29.06.2018

Awards ceremony: November 2018

  • Title

    DETAIL Prize 2018
  • Type

    Competition Announcement (Built Projects & Masterplans)
  • Organizers

  • Submission Deadline

    April 30, 2018 03:57 PM
  • Price


This competition was submitted by an ArchDaily user. If you'd like to submit a competition, call for submissions or other architectural 'opportunity' please use our "Submit a Competition" form. The views expressed in announcements submitted by ArchDaily users do not necessarily reflect the views of ArchDaily.

Cite: "DETAIL Prize 2018" 04 Apr 2018. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.