the world's most visited architecture website

Sign up now and start saving and organizing your favorite architecture projects and photos

Sign up now to save and organize your favorite architecture projects


Find the most inspiring products for your projects in our Product Catalog.

Find the most inspiring products in our Product Catalog.


Get the ArchDaily Chrome Extension and be inspired with every new tab. Install here »


All over the world, architects are finding cool ways to re-use run-down old buildings. Click here to see the best in Refurbishment Architecture.

Want to see the coolest refurbishment projects? Click here.


Immerse yourself in inspiring buildings with our selection of 360 videos. Click here.

See our immersive, inspiring 360 videos. Click here.

Navigate articles using your keyboard
  1. ArchDaily
  2. Articles
  3. Rem Koolhaas wins 2012 Jencks Award

Rem Koolhaas wins 2012 Jencks Award

Rem Koolhaas wins 2012 Jencks Award
OMA Rem Koolhaas © Dominik Gigler
OMA Rem Koolhaas © Dominik Gigler

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced Rem Koolhaas as the recipient of the 2012 Jencks Award. Given annually to an individual (or practice) that has recently made a major contribution internationally to both the theory and practice of architecture, the award will be presented to Koolhaas on November 20th at the RIBA in London. The event will also feature a public lecture by Koolhaas, chaired by architectural theorist Charles Jencks.

The RIBA stated: “Through his research and experimentation as well as his built projects and literature, Rem Koolhaas consciously works to deepen and expand the intrinsic connection between architecture and contemporary culture.”

Continue reading to learn more!

As founder of OMA, the Rotterdam-based architect has won the RIBA Royal Gold Medal, the Pritzker Prize and the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement at the 2010 Venice Biennale. Among his major works is the Seattle Public Library and the Central China Television headquarters in Beijing. Both, the Maggie’s Centre in Glasgow and the new Rothschilds Bank in London are on this year’s Stirling Prize shortlist.

Charles Jencks stated: “Rem Koolhaas, more than any other architect of his generation, has built a parallel life between the theory and practice of architecture.”

Previous winners of the Jencks Award include Eric Owen Moss, Zaha Hadid, Foreign Office Architects, Peter Eisenman, Cecil Balmond, UNStudio, Wolf D. Prix & Coop Himmelb(l)au, Charles Correa and Steven Holl.

via RIBA and BDOnline

Seattle Central Library / OMA + LMN © Philippe Ruault
Seattle Central Library / OMA + LMN © Philippe Ruault

About this author
Karissa Rosenfield

See more:

Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "Rem Koolhaas wins 2012 Jencks Award " 29 Aug 2012. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884
Read comments