Helsinki South Harbour Competition Winners

Helsinki South Harbour Competition Winners
Boegbeeld - second place entry

The panel for the international Kirjava satama Ideas Competition unanimously decided to give four awards among the 201 entries with balanced overall solutions that were suitable to the cityscape; the entries also had especially interesting ideas for the development of different sections. Innovation and ideas were valued higher than the flawlessness of details. There was no single entry that would have attained all the goals of the competition in a way that was clearly superior. The entries Boegbeeld, Meren syleily, Stadi terassi and Tori received an award in the competition for the south harbour. More images and information on the winners after the break.

The entries contain many elements that can be used to renew the South Harbour during the next few decades. The competition area is one of the places in Helsinki that arouses the most intense interest, which is why it is good to allow some of the ideas to mature, says the panel’s Chair, Deputy Mayor Hannu Penttilä.

Boegbeeld - second place entry

The competition inspired two lines of development for the near future. Penttilä suggests that the improvements to the appearance of Kauppatori should begin next year when the Old Market Hall is renovated. In addition, it is time for Tähtitorninmäki Park and the Olympic Pier shore to open. In the best entries, a smoothly running pedestrian and bicycle route has been planned for the shore area of the Makasiini and Olympia Terminals.

Tori - second place entry

In addition to the four award-winning entries, the entries Bridges, Buildings and Bridgebuildings, GLGGMGM and Satamakoti were purchased. The entries Archipelago Mobile, Pilvi, Rock City, the Owls Go, Vivo and Helsinki Gateway received honorable mentions.

Tori - second place entry

The panel evaluation minutes state that developing the shoreline formed by filling in the sea at Katajanokka could offer new possibilities to revitalise the area. In, for example, the entries Meren syleily and Boegbeeld, a channel has been presented as an idea for the continuation of the esplanades and Kauppatori. The award-winning entries show that it is possible to place a public building that fits into the environment on the plot of the Kanava Terminal. In the entries, a place for a public building was also found in Eteläranta. In some entries, new residential buildings at the edges of Kaivopuisto Park were suggested.

240240 Stadi terassi - second place entry

Shared Second Place (4 entries)

240240 Stadi terassi - second place entry

Boegbeeld Creator: Ilkka Svärd. Contributors: Pia Sopanen, Tuuli Sopanen

Meren syleily Creator: Allies and Morrison Architects, Bob Allies

240240 Stadi terassi Creator: Maxwan Architects + Urbanists; Hiroki Matsuura, Rients Dijkstra, Jason Hilgefort, Kris Schaasberg, Artur Borejszo, Leena Cho, Nobuki Ogashara, Ignas Uogintas, Aleksandar Hrib

Tori Creator: APRT Oy, Aaro Artto. Contributors: Maria Laisi, Jussi Vakkilainen

Purchased Entries (3 entries)

Meren syleily - second place entry

Bridges, Buildings & Bridgebuildings Creator: Arkkitehtitoimisto A-Konsultit Oy; Eric Adlercreutz, Hasse Hägerström, Jyrki Iso-Aho, Staffan Lodenius, Mikko Tanneraho. Contributor: Jukka Salonen. Traffic planning: Björn Silfverberg

GLGGMGM Creator: Atelier LOIDL Landscape Architects and Urban Planners; Leonard Grosch. Contributors: Stefan Grieger, Benjamin Gutsche, Michael Gareis, Anne Mertins, Flavia Mameli. Partner: Leifheit & Wassendorf Architects; Grisha Leifheit, Jörg Wessendorf. Traffic planning: GRI GmbH, Bodo Fuhrmann, Duy Cuong Lai. Logistics: CCL GmbH, Martin Akar

Satamakoti Creator: MS architekti s.r.o., Michal Sourek. Contributors: Pavel Hrebecky, Tomás Filgas, Idan Zveibil Thomas Zagdoun, Jiri Zeman

Honorable Mentions

Meren syleily - second place entry

John Ottati Archipelago Mobile Creator: John Ottati Team, Kyung Jae Kim. Contributors: Gregory Haley, Heejoo Shi, Suah Na, Halley Tsai

Pilvi Creator: Dylan Tat-Lun Kwok. Contributors: Hyejin Ahn, Maarit Eskola

Rock City Creator: Arkkitehdit Anttila-Rusanen Oy; Jesse Anttila, Mikko Rusanen, Maarit Virkkunen, Lassi Hackman, Jukka Timonen

The Owls Go Creator: Made In Architects; Manuel Alvarez Monteserin-Lahoz, Beatriz Pachòn Castrillo, Javier Simó de Pedro, Laura Martín Dominiques, Ignacio Alvarez Monteserin-Lahoz, Jaime López Garcia, Javier Gutiérrez, Alicia Domingo Medrano, Max Sverre Stenersen, Eli-na Theno

Vivo Creator: Karin Krokfors. Contributors: Matús Panor, Arvi Mäkitalo. Street and traffic planning: Finnmap Infra Oy, Marko Ranta, Traficon Oy, Jaakko Tuominen

Helsinki Gateway Creator: Effekt; Signus Lynge, Tue Hesselberg Foged, Simon Sjökvist, Gorka Galzada Medina, Toni Rubio Soler, Matias La-barca Clausen, Monica Capitano, Morten Vesberg Hansen, Agate Kalnpure, Andris Rubenis

For more information on the winners, please visit here.

Image gallery

See allShow less
About this author
Cite: Alison Furuto. "Helsinki South Harbour Competition Winners" 03 Jul 2012. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.