AIA 2012: Architects of Healing

Architects of Healing © ArchDaily

After three days of inspirational keynote sessions, informative seminars, exclusive tours, invaluable networking opportunities and an impressive expo, the American Institute of Architects concluded the 2012 National Convention with a special tribute to the architects responsible for the post-9/11 memorials and rebuilding efforts. These “Architects of Healing” tirelessly worked together to transform the darkness of grief brought on by the 9/11 attacks into the triumph of hope in the wounded areas of Shanksville, Pennsylvania; the Pentagon; and the World Trade Center site.

Robert I. Davidson, FAIA, is a senior vice president at STV in New York, and is responsible for the planning and design of the World Trade Center PATH Intermodal Station.

Robert I. Davidson, FAIA © ArchDaily

The musician, artist and internationally recognized architect Daniel Libeskind, AIA, is responsible for the Ground Zero Master Plan in New York.

Daniel Libeskind, AIA © ArchDaily

David M. Childs, FAIA, is Chairman Emeritus of SOM. He designed Seven World Trade Center and One World Trade Center (formally the Freedom Tower) in New York, which recently became the tallest tower in New York City.

David M. Childs, FAIA © ArchDaily

Michael Arad, AIA, was a key architect for the National September 11 Memorial and Museum at the World Trade Center in New York, whose “Reflecting Absence” memorial was selected by the Lower Manhattan Development Corporation from more than 5,000 entries submitted in an international competition held in 2003.

Michael Arad, AIA © ArchDaily

Craig Edward Dykers, AIA, is the co-founder of Snohetta. He served as a key architect for the National September 11 Memorial and Museum at the World Trade Center in New York.

Craig Edward Dykers, AIA © ArchDaily

Steven M. Davis, FAIA, is a partner in the New York firm David Brody Bond. He is a key architect for the National September 11 Memorial and Museum at the World Trade Center in New York.

Steven M. Davis, FAIA © ArchDaily

Santiago Calatrava, FAIA, is an engineer, artist and internationally recognized architect who recently completed the Trinity River Bridge in Dallas. Calatrava designed the World Trade Center Transportation Hub, which is currently under construction and planned for completion in late 2014 or early 2015.

Santiago Calatrava, FAIA © ArchDaily

Each highlighted architect shared their story, describing their deep connection to the tragic events of 9/11. They were then joined by the rest of the honored “Architects of Healing”, including Paul Murdock, AIA; Julie Beckman; Keith Kaseman; Ridgely Dixon, AIA; Craig A. Morgan, AIA; Christopher Fromboluti, AIA; Ronald E. Fidler, FAIA; and Mary Oehrlein, FAIA.

After a grand round of applause, each architect’s team members flooded the stage as they too deserved to be honored for their hard work and talent. The 9/11 memorials and rebuilding efforts were made possible through the dedication and collaboration efforts by all the participating architects.

Architects of Healing © ArchDaily

Image gallery

See allShow less
About this author
Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "AIA 2012: Architects of Healing" 20 May 2012. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.