2012 Washington UNBUILT Awards Winners

The Washington Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA|DC) recently announced the 2012 winners of the 4th Annual Washington UNBUILT Awards competition.

This year’s judging yielded eight winning submissions from local design professionals and students with the grand prize awarded to Christine Chlebda, a student at The Catholic University of America (CUA). More information on the awards after the break.

The remaining 2012 Washington UNBUILT Awards winners are:

Honor Award: Ronit Eisenbach, Professional, University of Maryland (UMD) Honor Award: Nicole Keroack, Student, University of Virginia (UVA) Honor Award: Sandra Nam, Emerging Professional Honor Award: Gui Talarico, Professional, VOA Associates, Inc. Merit Award: Bill Kline, Brian Martin, Brenna Costello, David Treece, Professional, SmithGroup JJR Merit Award: Shawn Balon, Professional, RTKL Associates, Inc. Merit Award: Ryan Erb, Emerging Professional

In 2009, the AIA|DC created this new awards program in response to the global economic crisis that brought many architectural projects to a halt. The awards recognize and celebrate projects that have been prevented or delayed from realization, as well as concepts that are entirely theoretical. These criteria provide a broad base of imaginative and thought-provoking submissions that explore and encourage what projects in and around Washington “could be.”

The winning submissions will be displayed at the District Architecture Center’s SIGAL Gallery between May 3rd and June 30th. The exhibition, Could Be: The AIA|DC Awards for Unbuilt Architecture, is organized by the National Building Museum in partnership with The American Institute of Architects, AIA Legacy, ARCHITECT Magazine, Hanley Wood, the Washington Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA|DC), and the Washington Architectural Foundation.

About this author
Cite: Alison Furuto. "2012 Washington UNBUILT Awards Winners" 28 Apr 2012. ArchDaily. Accessed . <https://www.archdaily.com/229147/2012-washington-unbuilt-awards-winners> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.