Cooper-Hewitt 2011 National Design Award Winners

Cooper-Hewitt 2011 National Design Award Winners
Stephen Cassell, Kim Yao, and Adam Yarinsky, © Lajos Geenen

Honoring lasting achievement in American design Cooper-Hewitt announced yesterday the winners and finalists of the 2011 National Design Awards. In its 12th year of celebrating outstanding achievement in design, the Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum annually presents this award to various disciplines that demonstrate excellence, innovation, and enhancement of the quality of life.

Garnering first prize for architecture is New York based Architecture Research Office (ARO). A list of winners and finalists following the break.


The Diana Center at Barnard College / Weiss Manfredi, © Albert Vecerka/Esto

Winner: Architecture Research Office (ARO) Finalists:  Dan Rockhill, Weiss/Manfredi

Landscape Architecture

Hines|Archstone’s CityCenterDC Development / Gustafson Guthrie Nichol, © neoscape

Winner: Gustafson Guthrie Nichol Finalists: Margie Ruddick, Tom Leader

Interior Design

Macquarie Bank / Clive Wilkinson Architects, © Shannon McGrath

Winner: Shelton, Mindel & Associates Finalists: Clive Wilkinson Architects, Aidlin Darling Design

About this author
Cite: Kelly Minner. "Cooper-Hewitt 2011 National Design Award Winners" 27 May 2011. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.