Aireys Inlet House / Turco & Associates

Courtesy of

Architect: Turco & Associates assisted by Mitsuori Architects
Location: Aireys Inlet, , Australia
Project Team: Michael Turco, Matt Chamberlain, Michael Giese, Melissa Lim
Structural Engineer: M.R. Anderson Consulting Engineers
Builder: BDH Constructions
Completion: 2010
Building Area: 194 sqm
Site Area: 4,402 sqm
Photographs: Michael Giese, Jeremy Davis


Grange Road Kindergarten / Bloxas

© Ben Hosking

Architects: Bloxas - Black Line One X Architecture Studio
Location: ,
Completion: 2012
Client: Grange Road Kindergarten Association and Bayside City Council
Photographs: Ben Hosking


New House At Milton St Elwood Victoria / Jost Architects

Courtesy of

Architects: Jost Architects – Patrick Jost
Location: Milton St, Elwood, , Australia
Area: 430 sqm
Photographs: Tara Pearce, Patrick Jost

Melissa Store in Melbourne / Edwards Moore

© Peter Bennett

Architects: Edwards Moore
Location: , Australia
Project Team: Ben Edwards, Juliet Moore, Leo Dewitte, Jacqueline Nguyen
Area: 70 sqm
Year: 2012
Photographs: Peter Bennett

Tusculum Residence / Smart Design Studio

Courtesy of

Architects: Smart Design Studio
Location: Sydney,
Client: Kevin O’Neill and Johnson Chan
Project Team: William Smart, Victoria Judge, Richard Storey, Edmund Spencer
Construction: 2010
Gross Floor Area: 325 sqm
Photographs: Courtesy of Smart Design Studio

Saltwater Coast Lifestyle Centre / NH Architecture

© Dianna Snape

Architects: NH Architecture
Location: , VIC, Australia
Design Team: Peter Dredge, Hamish Lyon, Andy Gentry, Fiona Collie, Emily Kilvington, Astrid Jenkin, Mitch McTaggart, Chris Reddaway, Silvia Tasani, Jan Vastestaeger, Chad Harrison, Ramiro Marroquin
Completion: 2011
Cost: $6.1 million
Photographs: Dianna Snape

Dandenong Government Services Offices / HASSELL

© Peter Bennetts

Architects: HASSELL
Location: Melbourne, ,
Completion: 2012
Scale: 27,000 sqm
Client: Grocon / EPC Partners
Photographs: Peter Bennetts

Nishi Sales Suite and Gallery / hungerford+edmunds + OCULUS

© Nic Bailey

Architects: hungerford+edmunds + OCULUS 
Location: New Acton , Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Client: Molonglo Group
Collaborators: Molonglo Group (client), PBS (builder), (landscape), Arup (ESD), Design Office (interior fit-out) and Clear (graphic design)
Completion: 2011
Area: 270 sqm
Photographs: Nic Bailey

Lagoon Beach House / Birrelli Architects

© Rob Burnett

Architects: Birrelli Architects
Location: Tasmania,
Project Team: Ed Gordon, Lynden Jones, Phil Dingemanse, Andrew Geeves, Jack Birrell
Built Area: 255 sqm
Completion: 2011
Photographs: Rob Burnett

George Patterson Y&R / HASSELL

© Dianna Snape

Architects: HASSELL 
Location: Melbourne, ,
Client: George Patterson Y&R
Discipline: Interior Design
Scale: 2,840 sqm
Year: 2011
Photographs: Dianna Snape


‘Sea Dragon’ Sculpture / JOH Architects

Courtesy of

Drawing inspiration from ’s history and from a future with strong visions of sustainability and independence, the ‘Sea Dragon’, designed by JOH Architects, is a wind driven sculptural sea monster in the heart of Geelong, a bay orientated port city with a history of both farming and industry connections. This industrial machine like creature will guard the Geelong harbour like nothing in this proud city’s history while remaining fearlessly independent drawing energy from the harbor’s natural environment. More images and architects’ description after the break.

Ravenswood School for Girls / BVN

Courtesy of

Architects: BVN
Location: Sydney,
Photographs: Courtesy of BVN 


Monash University Student Housing / BVN

Courtesy of BVN

Architects: BVN Architecture
Location: Monash, 
Photographs: Courtesy of


Narbethong Community Hall / BVN

Courtesy of Architecture

Architects: BVN
Location: Narbethong, 
Photographs: Courtesy of BVN


Sydney Architecture Walks / Supple Design

Photo by Spikebot -

Supple Design shared with us their Sydney Architecture Walks, which consists of an ongoing series of public walking and bicycle tours of that use contemporary architecture to open up conversations political, cultural, economic and environmental. Their premise is that cities are made not found, so architecture becomes the lens to open up other conversations.

Cutting edge, daring and edgy stuff is what gets them up in the morning. Projects that provoke, explore, push boundaries and reveal something of Sydney’s (grimy) pulse. So the city acts as ‘sign’ or signifier of a bunch of ideas and tendencies simmering quietly beneath the surface. They want you to really feel the city. They want you to get stung by architecture! For more information, please visit here.

Elysium / Richard Kirk Architect

© Scott Burrows

Architects: Richard Kirk Architect
Location: , Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Completed: 2008
Structural Engineer: Bornhorst & Ward
Hydraulic Engineer: Cooper & Associates
Photographs: Scott Burrows

G House / Bruce Stafford & Associates

© Karl Beath

Architects: Bruce Stafford & Associates
Location: Vaucluse, Sydney,
BSA Design Team: Bruce Stafford, Anna Antoniades, Rachel Kayode
Interior Design: Arent and Pyke
Structural Engineer: Geoff Ninnes Fong
Contractor: C.E. Pilcher & Son
Quantity Surveyor: Heyman Cohen
Landscape Consultant: Jane Grossberg
Photographs: Karl Beath

Elliott Ripper House / Christopher Polly Architect

© Brett Boardman

Architects: Christopher Polly Architect
Location: Rozelle, Sydney,
Builder: Paul King Pty Ltd
Structural Engineer: Simpson Design Associates
Landscape Architect: Carmichael Studios
Area: 161 sqm
Completion: 2011
Photographs: Brett Boardman