The Martian Embassy / LAVA

© Brett Boardman

Architects: LAVA
Location: Sydney NSW,
Project Manager: Berents Project Management
Project Year: 2012
Project Area: 150 sqm
Photographs: Brett Boardman, Peter Murphy

Red Hill / Inarc Architects

© Peter Clarke

Architects: Inarc Architects
Location: , VIC, Australia
Architect: Clodagh McCallig
Project Architect: Ben Stibbard
Project Year: 2008
Photographs: Peter Clarke

Dapto Anglican Church Auditorium / Silvester Fuller

© Martin van der Wal

Architects: Silvester Fuller
Location: , NSW, Australia
Project Team: Patrik Braun, Rachid Andary, Bruce Feng
Project Leaders: Jad Silvester, Penny Fuller
Project Year: 2011
Project Area: 1,155 sqm
Photographs: Martin van der Wal

Middle Park House / KPDO + CJA

© Derek Swalwell

Architects: Kerry Phelan Design Office & Chamberlain Javens Architects
Location: Beaconsfield Parade, VIC,
Project Year: 2012
Photographs: Derek Swalwell

ACT Emergency Services Agency Outdoor Training Centre / HBO+EMTB

© Ben Wrigley

Architects: HBO+EMTB
Location: ACT,
Project Year: 2011
Photographs: Ben Wrigley

Wintergarden Façade / Studio 505

© John Gollings

Architects: Studio 505
Location: Brisbane QLD,
Project Year: 2012
Photographs: John Gollings, Courtesy of

Green Square Town Centre Library and Green Square Plaza International Competition

The city of has launched an international design competition as part of the the Green Square Development Project for a new Library Centre and Plaza at the heart of a 278 hectare area south of the city centre.  The Green Square Development project is an initiative to redevelop a 278 hectare area south of the city centre of Sydney, by bringing in diverse functions of housing, open spaces, offices and facilities that contribute to a vibrant, sustainable community. The library will be designed as a community centre and hub and used as an educational and creative resource, as well as a lounge.  The project is allotting $40 million for the design and construction of the new facility and should be an integrated whole between the library and plaza which will also be a host to public arts, community events and markets.  Stage one entries close on August 21st.  Visit the official Green Square Library website to learn more.

More details on the competition and the project after the break.

Park House / Shaun Lockyer Architects

© Scott Burrows

Architects: Shaun Lockyer Architects
Location: QLD, Australia
Project Team: Shaun Lockyer
Design Principal: Shane Marsh
Project Architect: Richard Pain
Architectural Technician: Corinne Bolton – Interiors
Project Year: 2012
Photographs: Scott Burrows

Seacliff House / Chris Elliott Architects

© Richard Glover

Architect: Chris Elliott Architects
Location: , Australia
Landscape Architects: Terragram
Photographs: Richard Glover

Venice Biennale 2012: Australian Pavilion focuses on Architect’s Evolving Role

A complex robotically fabricated sculptural installation. © Supermanoeuvre

Return from a water taxi journey around the Giardini via zip line, explore the potential for “robot craftsmen” and discover much more this August at the Australian Pavilion during the 2012 International Venice Architecture Biennale. With the world-famous exhibition just around the corner, the have decided to release details on what to expect at their exhibit, Formations: New Practices in Australian Architecture.

The Creative Directors, Anthony Burke and Gerard Reinmuth, said: “It’s very exciting to see how the architectural profession is evolving, the new domains that are being explored and the vitality and variety of innovative architectural types that seems to foster. Formations highlights the range of unconventional and world-leading architectural practice types being developed across , celebrating new opportunities for architects that are working in non-traditional and unexpected ways.”

Continue after the break to learn more.

Pirates Bay House / O’Connor and Houle Architecture

© Earl Carter

Architects: O’Connor and Houle Architecture
Location: , Victoria,
Project Area: 200 sqm
Photographs: Earl Carter

Bruce Munro announces plans for Solar Powered Field of Light at Uluru

© Stephen Weeks

Many of you are aware of Bruce Munro’s dazzling LED ‘Light: Installations’ currently on view until late September in the fields of Pennsylvania’s Longwood Gardens. Well, the famed artist has just announced plans to embark on his largest installation to date – a quarter million solar powered stems of light to cover one square kilometer of land in the heart of the Australian red desert at Uluru (Ayer’s Rock). Fundraising begins today and you can help make it happen.

Continue reading for more information.


El Rancho Relaxo / Wolveridge Architects

Courtesy of Wolveridge Architects

Architects: Wolveridge Architects
Location: Mt Martha, ,
Photographs: Courtesy of Wolveridge Architects 

The Green Building Council of Australia Launches Community Ratings for Sustainable Practices

Courtesy of Athanasios Polyzoidis & Katerina Petsiou

The Green Building Council of has released Green Star – a new comprehensive rating system that can assess the degree to which communities, as a whole, succeed in creating livable and sustainable environments. This is a new and dynamic way to look at the culture of sustainability. “Green building” is not only reflected in individual buildings; it is the accumulation of the buildings, the infrastructure, the urban planning and design, the amenities of the community and the lifestyles that communities live. Projects such as DIY Urbanism in the Netherlands by MVRDV and “e_co_llectiva” by Athanasios Polyzoidis & Katerina Petsiou have this kind of regard for the development of holistic community.

Read on for more after the break.

Kooyong Residence / Matt Gibson Architecture


Architects: Matt Gibson Architecture
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Project Year: 2011
Photographs: SMG

Cloud House / McBride Charles Ryan

© John Gollings

Architects: McBride Charles Ryan
Location: VIC,
Design Team: Rob McBride, Debbie-Lyn Ryan, Marie Chen, Cathryn Panaterri, Ben Inman, Gabriella Muto
Proyect Year: 2012
Photographs: John Gollings

Fig Tree Pocket House 2 / Shane Plazibat Architects

© Christopher Frederick Jones

Architects: Shane Plazibat Architects
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Project Team: Shane Plazibat, Daniel Sturton, Jindrich Hozak, Vincent TeoProject Area: 2,000 sqm
Photographs: Christopher Frederick Jones

The Avenel House / Paul Morgan Architects

© John Gollings

Architects: Paul Morgan Architects
Location: Tarcombe Road, Avenel, ,
Built area: 250sqm
Senior Project Team: Sophie Dyring, Karla Martinez, Stephen Yau, Teck Chee Chow
Photographs: John Gollings