Cooper-Hewitt National Design Awards winners announced

Architecture Design Award / KieranTimberlake / Photo: Halkin Photography LLC

The Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum will celebrate outstanding achievement in design this fall with its 11th annual National Design Awards program. Yesterday, Cooper-Hewitt Director Bill Moggridge announced the winners and finalists of the 2010 National Design Awards, which recognize excellence across a variety of disciplines. The Award recipients will be honored at a gala dinner Thursday, Oct. 14, at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York. First Lady Michelle Obama serves as the Honorary Patron for this year’s National Design Awards.

See the winners after the break.

Lifetime Achievement / Jane Thompson:

Design Research Store / Photo: Esto

Corporate and Institutional Achievement / U.S. Green Building Council:

Boston Children's Museum / Photo: Boston Children's Museum

Architecture Design / KieranTimberlake:

West Campus Residential Initiative / Photo: Halkin Photography LLC

Interior Design / William Sofield:

Gucci, Milan / Photo: Gucci

Landscape Design / James Corner Field Operations:

The High Line / Photo: Iwan Baan

For the complete list of winners and finalists, click here.

Cite: Jordana, Sebastian. "Cooper-Hewitt National Design Awards winners announced" 20 Jun 2010. ArchDaily. Accessed 25 May 2015. <>