Architecture Now - Superblock Piraeus

Architecture Now - Superblock Piraeus

On 5 July the book ‘After Piraeus’ will be launched at a festive gathering in Pakhuis De Zwijger, Amsterdam.

In 1994, the housing block Piraeus was completed to the design of Hans Kollhoff. It was a blow. German architects were needed to demonstrate that a design did not need to be at odds with the Dutch construction culture. Piraeus must be taken as a pivotal point in modern history, after which the thinking on the production of buildings and city were newly charged.

The 20th anniversary of Praeusformed the occasion for 10 architects to come together. Without a manifesto or a principle statement, they started to work, departing from a shared interest in current construction practice in the city of today. They discussed the work Hans Kollhoff, thought and made visual interpretations of his work. They wrote pieces on the relevance of Kollhoff’s work to themes present in their own work. The practical value of design was always their starting point. The result is a collection of drawn and written insights with the title ‘After Piraeus’.

‘After Piraeus’ appears in Dutch and English. Reservations for the launch in De Zwijger can be made here.

‘After Piraeus’ was made by:

  • Jacq de Brouwer
  • Floris Cornelissen
  • Job Floris
  • Jeroen Geurst
  • Hans van der Heijden
  • Jo Janssen
  • Alexander Pols
  • Gus Tielens
  • Endry van Velzen
  • Jan Peter Wingender


This event was submitted by an ArchDaily user. If you'd like to submit an event, please use our "Submit a Event" form. The views expressed in announcements submitted by ArchDaily users do not necessarily reflect the views of ArchDaily.

Cite: "Architecture Now - Superblock Piraeus " 19 Jun 2017. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.