Jeff Harnar Award for Contemporary Architecture in New Mexico

The Jeff Harnar Award for Contemporary Architecture is now accepting submissions for the 2017 award cycle. This is the 10th year of this award that honors the late Jeff Harnar, known for his groundbreaking design in contemporary architecture in Santa Fe, NM. The Jeff Harnar Award is a prestigious award in the architectural profession and offers one of the top prize amounts in the country, awarding the winner a $10,000 cash prize.

Submissions must be from an architect or architectural firm for a singular work of architecture built in New Mexico which has been completed since January 1, 2011. The architect or architecture firm do not need to be from New Mexico and there is no limit to the number of entries per firm or architect. Entries must be completed and received no later than 4:30 p.m., February 9, 2017.

The Harnar prize and program is sponsored by the Thornburg Foundation, who has sponsored this award for the past 10 years. The University of New Mexico’s School of Architecture + Planning organizes the event and determines both the award process and selection of the jury.

The award presentation and celebration will be held on February 24, 2017 at 5:30 p.m. at the School of Architecture + Planning’s Garcia Honda Auditorium located at George Pearl Hall at UNM. A jury of architects will narrow the submissions to the top three entries and the winner will be announced at the award presentation.

“The award was created in Jeff’s honor to encourage creativity and excellence in contemporary architectural design,” said Garrett Thornburg, Chairman of the Thornburg Foundation. “We want to promote contemporary architecture and sustainable design of new architectural forms which celebrate and integrate with the unique landscape of New Mexico.”

Geraldine Forbes Isais, Dean of the School of Architecture and Planning said, “The Jeff Harnar Award program implicitly asks the architectural community to challenge all New Mexicans to examine the urban and rural conditions of the state and advance an architecture that is sometimes respectful, sometimes provocative - but always contemporary and uniquely New Mexican.”

This year the Harnar Award Speaker, Benjamin Gilmartin, Partner at Diller Scofidio + Renfro, New York, NY, will also serve as jury chair. The other jurors are: Ane Gonzalez Lara, UNM Assistant Professor of Architecture; Teresa Rosano, Ibarra Rosano Design Architects, Tucson, AZ; Charlotte McKernan, UNM Master of Architecture candidate; Charles Menefee, AIA, Associate
Professor of Architecture, University of Virginia.

UNM Architecture Director and Professor John Quale is the Director of the Harnar Award. He can be reached at

Download the information related to this competition here.

  • Title

    Jeff Harnar Award for Contemporary Architecture in New Mexico
  • Type

    Grants, Scholarships & Awards
  • Website

  • Organizers

  • Registration Deadline

    February 09, 2017 04:30 PM
  • Submission Deadline

    February 09, 2017 04:30 PM
  • Venue

    Buildings in New Mexico
  • Price


This award/grant/scholarship announcement was submitted by an ArchDaily user. If you'd like to submit a competition, call for submissions or other architectural 'opportunity' please use our "Submit Grants, Scholarships & Awards" form. The views expressed in announcements submitted by ArchDaily users do not necessarily reflect the views of ArchDaily.

Cite: "Jeff Harnar Award for Contemporary Architecture in New Mexico" 31 Jan 2017. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.