the world's most visited architecture website
  1. ArchDaily
  2. Competitions & Opportunities
  3. Wienerberger Brick Award 2018 Entry Period is Open

Wienerberger Brick Award 2018 Entry Period is Open

  • 04:00 - 9 January, 2017
Wienerberger Brick Award 2018 Entry Period is Open
Wienerberger Brick Award 2018 Entry Period is Open

The Wienerberger Brick Award is a biannual architectural award for outstanding modern and innovative brick architecture. In 2018, this internationally established award will take place for the eighth time and is now open for submissions. Architecture critics, journalists and architects themselves can submit projects online until 20th April 2017. The official Brick Award ceremony will take place in Vienna in spring 2018.

The Award acknowledges modern and innovative brick buildings that show the varied and diverse ways brick can be used in contemporary architecture. At the same time, the award and the accompanying book, give people with an interest in architecture and experts an overview of current developments and trends in international brick architecture with its remarkable range of applications.


The award comprises five categories:

  • Feeling at home 
  • Living together
  • Working together
  • Sharing public spaces
  • Building outside the box

Assessment criteria include innovative design and skilful use of brick as a material, along with functionality, sustainability and energy efficiency. Possible applications range from building solutions with classic clay building blocks and facing bricks to the creative use of ceramic façade panels, roof tiles, clay pavers and special bricks. The project can comprise newly constructed, refurbished and converted buildings.

Special attention is directed to how the building blends in with the surroundings as well as to the form, aesthetics and general quality of the architecture. The use of Wienerberger products is no necessary condition of participation. The award is endowed with prize money of €7,000 for the Grand Prize Winner (incl. Category Winner) and €5,000 for each of the remaining Category Winners.


A panel of architecture journalists and critics will narrow down the number of all entries to 50 projects, which are nominated for the Wienerberger Brick Award 2018. Subsequently, an international jury of architects will select out of these 50 nominees the 5 winners in the single categories.


As in the past years, Wienerberger together with an international publishing house will produce the “Brick '18” book, featuring the 50 nominated and award-winning projects. This beautifully designed book will be published at the time of the official Brick Award ceremony in spring 2018.

Download the information related to this competition here.

  • Title

    Wienerberger Brick Award 2018 Entry Period is Open
  • Type

    Call for Submissions
  • Organizers

  • Submission Deadline

    20/04/2017 23:59
  • Price


This call for submissions was submitted by an ArchDaily user. If you'd like to submit a competition, call for submissions or other architectural 'opportunity' please use our "Submit a Call for Submissions" form. The views expressed in announcements submitted by ArchDaily users do not necessarily reflect the views of ArchDaily.

Cite: "Wienerberger Brick Award 2018 Entry Period is Open" 09 Jan 2017. ArchDaily. Accessed . <> ISSN 0719-8884

You've started following your first account!

Did you know?

You'll now receive updates based on what you follow! Personalize your stream and start following your favorite authors, offices and users.