2016 Aga Khan Award for Architecture Winners Announced

16:00 - 2 October, 2016
2016 Aga Khan Award for Architecture Winners Announced, 2016 Aga Khan Award for Architecture Recipients
2016 Aga Khan Award for Architecture Recipients

Six exemplary projects have been announced as winners of the 2016 Aga Khan Award for Architecture. Presented once every three years, the award was established by the Aga Khan in 1977 to “identify and encourage building concepts that successfully addressed the needs and aspirations of communities in which Muslims have a significant presence.” To be considered for the award, projects must exhibit not only architectural excellence, but also the ability to improve users overall quality of life.

Selected from a shortlist of 19 candidates, the five winning projects will receive a $1 million dollar prize as they join an acclaimed list of previous winners, which includes buildings from Zaha Hadid, Norman Foster, Charles Correa, Frank Gehry, Jean Nouvel and Hassan Fathy.

Superkilen masterplan designed by BIG + Topotek1 + Superflex Honored by AIA

00:00 - 16 January, 2013
© Iwan Baan
© Iwan Baan

At almost a mile long Superkilen wedges through one of the most ethnically diverse and socially challenged neighborhoods in Denmark creating a truly unique urban space with a strong identity on a local and global scale. The park is divided into three zones: the red square, the black market and the green park and is conceived as a giant exhibition of urban best practice - a collection of global everyday objects from the 60+ home countries of the local inhabitants. Initiated by the City of Copenhagen and Realdania Foundation, the project started construction in 2009 and opened to the public in June 2012. The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has selected Superkilen as one of the winners of the 2013 Institute Honor Awards, the profession’s highest recognition of works that exemplify excellence in architecture, interior architecture and urban design.

Superkilen / Topotek 1 + BIG Architects + Superflex

01:00 - 25 October, 2012
Superkilen / Topotek 1 + BIG Architects + Superflex, © Iwan Baan
© Iwan Baan

© Iwan Baan © Iwan Baan © Iwan Baan © Torben Eskerod + 57

  • Architects

  • Location

    Nørrebro, Copenhagen / from Norrebrogade to Tagensvej
  • Category

  • BIG Partner in Charge

    Bjarke Ingels
  • BIG Project Leader

    Nanna Gyldholm Møller, Mikkel Marcker Stubgaard
  • BIG Design Team

    Ondrej Tichy, Jonas Lehmann, Rune Hansen, Jan Borgstrøm, Lacin Karaoz, Jonas Barre, Nicklas Antoni Rasch, Gabrielle Nadeau, Jennifer Dahm Petersen, Richard Howis, Fan Zhang, Andreas Castberg, Armen Menendian, Jens Majdal Kaarsholm, Jan Magasanik
  • Topotek 1 Partner in Charge

    Martin Rein-Cano, Lorenz Dexler
  • Topotek 1 Project Leader

    Ole Hartmann, Anna Lundquist
  • Topotek 1 Design Team

    Toni Offenberger, Katia Steckemetz , Cristian Bohne, Karoline Liedtke
  • Superflex Partner in Charge

  • Superflex Project Leader

  • Superflex Design Team

    Jakob Fenger, Rasmus Nielsen, Bjørnstjerne Christiansen
  • Collaboration

    Lemming Eriksson, Help PR & Communication
  • Client

    Copenhagen Municipality, Realdania
  • Budget

    11 MIO USD
  • Area

    30,000 sqm
  • Project Year

  • Photographs