Zoom image | View original size
Six exemplary projects have been announced as winners of the 2016 Aga Khan Award for Architecture. Presented once every three years, the award was established by the Aga Khan in 1977 to “identify and encourage building concepts that successfully addressed the needs and aspirations of communities in which Muslims have a significant presence.” To be considered for the award, projects must exhibit not only architectural excellence, but also the ability to improve users overall quality of life. Selected from a shortlist of 19 candidates, the five winning projects will receive a $1 million dollar prize as they join an acclaimed list of previous winners, which includes buildings from Zaha Hadid, Norman Foster, Charles Correa, Frank Gehry, Jean Nouvel and Hassan Fathy. The Award’s “Master Jury” is appointed by a steering committee chaired by His Highness the Aga Khan (the 49th hereditary Imam of the Shia Imami Ismaili Muslims), who together establish the eligibility criteria for project submissions and provide thematic direction in response to "emerging priorities and issues" that relate to the architectural sphere. View more View full description
Share Share