Zoom image | View original size
Grafton Architects' co-founders Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara have been jointly awarded the fourth annual Jane Drew Prize for their “massive influence” on the profession. The “hardworking” Dublin-based duo impressed the jury, which included Norman Foster and Patty Hopkins, for not being “afraid to speak in a language that is feminine” yet “produce buildings which are robust and full of conviction.” “Grafton’s buildings are consistently high quality. Their approach is solid,” added the jury. “They are business-savvy.” Since founding their practice in 1978, Farrell and McNamara have praised for being influential “role models” for women in architecture, as well as esteemed professors and highly-decorated architects who’ve won a number prestigious awards. In 2013, Grafton was shortlisted for the Stirling Prize for their work at the University of Limerick. In 2008, the pair won World Building of the Year Award at the World Architecture Festival for the School of Economics at Milan’s Università Luigi Bocconi.  View more View full description
Share Share