Zoom image | View original size
Haworth Tompkins' Everyman Theatre has won the RIBA Stirling Prize for 2014, beating competition from Zaha Hadid, Renzo Piano, Mecanoo, O'Donnell + Tuomey and Feilden Clegg Bradley. The result was announced last night by RIBA President Stephen Hodder at an event held at the RIBA's Headquarter's in London, with Hodder saying that "Haworth Tompkins have struck the perfect balance between continuity and change" and calling the scheme "a ground-breaking example of how to build a daring, bold and highly sustainable large public building in a historic city centre." The Stirling Prize – considered the UK’s most prestigious architecture award, and among the most prestigious awards for an individual building in the world – is presented annually to the “building that has made the greatest contribution to the evolution of architecture in the past year.” The Everyman Theatre's win was something of a surprise, with the Mecanoo's Library of Birmingham taking the people's choice award thanks to the RIBA's online vote, and O’Donnell + Tuomey's Saw Swee Hock Student Centre at the London School of Economics reportedly the bookies' favourite. View more View full description
Share Share