Zoom image | View original size
The Japan Art Association has named Danish architect Henning Larsen the 2012 Praemium Imperiale laureate for architecture. Created in 1988 to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Japan Art Association and to honor the late Prince Takamatsu, the prestigious Praemium Imperiale awards recognize outstanding, lifetime achievements in the arts categories not covered by the Nobel Prizes: architecture, painting, sculpture, music and theatre/film. The 2012 Praemium Imperiale laureates: Painting: Cai Guo-Qiang (China)              
Sculpture: Cecco Bonanotte (Italy)               
 Architecture: Henning Larsen (Denmark)        
 Music: Philip Glass (USA)               
 Theatre/Film: Yoko Morishita (Japan)        In regards to Henning Larsen’s notable strengths, the Prize Committee’s citation stated: “Light seems to fall from the ceiling and windows, reflecting off the floors and walls, filling the space sublimely; these minutely calculated lighting effects are one of the greatest characteristics of Henning Larsen’s architecture.” View more View full description
Share Share