The Queen's College Florey building is the third and last building of “The Red Trilogy” (the Leicester Engineering Faculty building and the Cambridge History Faculty building being the first two) designed by James Stirling, solidifying him as an irreplaceable facet in modern Architecture. The Florey building was named after provost and 1945 Nobel Laureate Lord Howard Florey, who sat on the committee in charge of choosing an architect for the project. Although Stirling was not the most popular choice for lead architect on the project, Florey was an advocate of his, and Stirling was ultimately agreed upon because of the promise and potential held in his reputation at that time to deliver an iconic, modern building to boost the college’s reputation and enrollment. All three of Stirling’s university buildings were designed in the decade between 1958 and 1968, but the Florey building did not begin construction until after the end of this time period and was not completed until 1971.
View moreView full description