ArchDaily | Broadcasting Architecture Worldwidethe world's most visited architecture website

Sign up now and start saving and organizing your favorite architecture projects and photos


Find the most inspiring products for your projects in our Product Catalog.


Get the ArchDaily Chrome Extension and be inspired with every new tab. Install here »


Nominate now the Building of the Year 2017 »

  1. ArchDaily
  2. News
  3. The Gherkin Receives CTBUH’s Inaugural 10 Year Award

The Gherkin Receives CTBUH’s Inaugural 10 Year Award

The Gherkin Receives CTBUH’s Inaugural 10 Year Award
The Gherkin Receives CTBUH’s Inaugural 10 Year Award, © Nigel Young
© Nigel Young

Norman Foster’s Swiss Re Headquarters, a.k.a. “The Gherkin,” has been selected as the Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat’s (CTBUH) first 10 Year Award recipient. The uniquely-shaped skyscraper, as described by CTBUH, “cleared the way for a new generation of tall buildings in London and beyond. Ten years on, its tapering form and diagonal bracing structure afford numerous benefits: programmatic flexibility, naturally ventilated internal social spaces that provide user comfort while reducing energy demand, and ample, protected public space at the ground level.”

© Nigel Young © Nigel Young © Foster + Partners © Nigel Young +5

CTBUH’s 10 Year Award has been created from this year to focus the industry on performance against design intent. It recognizes proven value and performance, across one or more of a wide range of criteria, over a period of at least 10 years. This new award gives an opportunity to reflect back on buildings that have been completed and operational for at least a decade, and acknowledges those projects that have performed successfully long after the ribbon-cutting ceremonies have passed.

All 2013 CTBUH awards will be conferred at the 12th Annual Awards Ceremony and Dinner at Mies van der Rohe’s Crown Hall, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, Nov. 7, 2013.

Cite: Karissa Rosenfield. "The Gherkin Receives CTBUH’s Inaugural 10 Year Award" 24 Jul 2013. ArchDaily. Accessed . <>
Read comments