Western Red Cedar Architectural Design awards winners announced

The Western Red Cedar Lumber Association recently announced the winners for the 2008 Architectural Design awards.

The winners were chosen by a panel of esteemed architects, and the results were announced at the AIA 2009 National Convention in San Francisco.

The complete list of winners after the break.

Camouflage House / Johnsen Schmaling Architects / Green Lake, Wisconsin:

Experimental Media and Performing Arts Center for Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute / Grimshaw Architects / Troy, NY:

The Craig Thomas Discovery and Visitor Center / Bohlin Cywinski Jackson Architects / Moose, Wyoming:

The Yale Sculpture Gallery / KieranTimberlake / New Haven, CT:

39571 InfoWash / The Design Workshop, Parsons The New School for Design / DeLisle, Mississippi:

Hudson-Panos House / Swatt Architects / Healdsburg, CA:

Marin Country Day School Entry Building / KAMMEN Architecture in collaboration with Mark Cavagnero Associates / Corte Madera, Marin County, California:

Sidwell Friends Middle School / KieranTimberlake / Washington, DC:

Orange Memorial Park / Marcy Wong & Donn Logan Architects / South San Francisco, California:

The Coffou Cottage / Brininstool + Lynch / Michigan City, Indiana:

The Queens Botanical Garden Visitor & Administration Center / BKSK Architects LLP / Flushing, NY:

Cite: Jordana, Sebastian. "Western Red Cedar Architectural Design awards winners announced" 06 Jul 2009. ArchDaily. Accessed 18 Sep 2014. <http://www.archdaily.com/?p=27823>


  1. Thumb up Thumb down 0

    If you’re talking about the red Butterfly Chairs in the Hudson Panos photo, they were designed by Jorge Ferrari-Hardoy, an Argentinian architect, in 1938. Sometimes called Hardoy Chairs, they became very popular in the 1950s.

  2. Thumb up Thumb down 0

    The chairs on the seventh photo were designed by Antonio Bonet, Juan Kurchan y Jorge Ferrari-Hardoy. They were argentinian, and the name of the chair is BKF.

  3. Thumb up Thumb down 0

    Thanks, seen them on many photos from the 50′s, but I couldn’t find any info.

Share your thoughts